Two More Schools File for Union Recognition

We’ve Filed for Recognition at Two More Alliance Schools


Today, we are excited and proud to announce that educators at both Alliance Leichtman-Levine Family Foundation Environmental Science High School (ESAT) and Alliance Morgan McKinzie High School have filed for union recognition with the California Public Employment Relations Board (PERB).

They join over 100 of our colleagues who filed for union recognition last year at Alliance College-Ready Middle Academy 5, Alliance Judy Ivie Burton Technology Academy High School, and Alliance Gertz-Ressler Richard Merkin 6-12 Complex. It is our right under the California Educational Employment Relations Act (EERA) to form, join, and participate in the activities of employee organizations of our own choosing. An overwhelming majority of educators at ESAT and Morgan have made the democratic decision to join UTLA. We call on administration at each school to respect their choice.

Educators throughout the nation have made clear that it is our responsibility to lead in the efforts to improve public education. We call on our colleagues at other schools across the Alliance to join with us at this exciting moment to build a democratic organization of educators—for our students, our schools, and our profession.

Educators at Morgan McKinzie High School from left to right: Tony To (Biology), Joel Gariepy-Saper (English), Gary Carter (Filmmaking), Daisy Jauregui (Math)
Educators at ESAT from left to right: Nathan Green (History), Bill Neal (Art), Quinn Riddle-Ortiz (Government & Economics)